I WANT TO BE SELF-SUFFICIENT!

Standard

When I look at the rising sun
And realise there is no more fun
Farmlands and playgrounds become battle fields
Slaying, and backstabbing only for yields

When I see at sea 
Cargos harbouring at our harbours
Bringing likings of good taste
Made from materials which 
From us were taken in a haste
For Africa they believed is a waste
I long more for knowledge
Longing to transform the gifts of nature
A reason to thank our creature
I want to be self-sufficient!

When I hear of the cry of Africa
For missing sons and daughters
On a backway that never leads back
I wonder what those goers are going for
Riches? Riches so abundant in our lands?
I want to be self-sufficient!

Can there be a feeling
Greater than or of better healing
Than being self-sufficient?
I need time
I need courage
I need confidence
I need love
I need knowledge
I need plan B
But whatever it takes,
I want to be self-sufficient!

Leave a Reply

